Distinguished Alumnus Awarded to Dr. Ted Yaeger

Dr. Ted E. Yaeger

Philadelphia, PA: Drexel University congratulates Theodore E. Yaeger, IV, MD, FACRO on being chosen as the 2010 recipient of the Hahnemann University Distinguished Alumnus award on April 30 of this year.  The award is established to recognize a Hahnemann University graduate who is acclaimed for excellent service and accomplishment in his respective professional field, leadership in the medical profession, participation in professional organizations and scholarly activity.  Dr. Yaeger graduated Hahnemann University with a double honors medical degree in 1981.

He is presently the Medical Director of Radiation Oncology at Caldwell Memorial Hospital and Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology at Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.  Formerly, he was the first chairman of the Department of Oncology at the Herbert D. Kerman Regional Oncology Center in Daytona Beach, Florida, having practiced there from 1985 to 2005.  He then joined Wake Forest University to develop a rural-based outreach cancer center and to pursue research to develop an innovative technique for treating early stage breast cancer. 

Dr. Yaeger is a fellow of both the American College of Radiation Oncology and the Royal Society of Medicine.  Presently he serves on the scientific committees for the Radiologic Society of North  America and the American Society of Therapeutic Radiation Oncology. 

During his career Dr. Yaeger has been honored with multiple awards including the 2009 Radiologic Society of North America's newsworthy presentation on the "SMART" technique for the treatment of breast cancer (developed at  Caldwell Memorial Hospital), the Jane Stuart Prize for excellence in radiation oncology, the Sylvia Lawler Lecture Prize from the Royal Society of Medicine and the Volusia County Medical Society Volunteer Award.  He was honored previously with a Resolution of Appreciation from Halifax Medical Center and he presently holds a Physician's Recognition Award with Special Commendation from the American Medical Association.